ENGLISH AND GIGI / INGLES Y GIGI

I think it’s time for me to start posting in english. I’m a bit affraid about it because my written english is not very good, so I apologize in advance if you find some mistakes. At the same time, I’m also excited about it because it forces me to improve and it will make it easier to read for non-spanish speakers.

Ok, so my first post in english is about my new favorite lunch place in Miami. It’s called GIGI and I’ve discovered it today.I totally loved it because it reminds me of some restaurants in Barcelona. It has this cozy yet modern touch, with industrial decoration and romantic glass jars full of home-made cookies on the counter.

I had the chilled soba (soba, spicy peanuts, scallions and some other vegetables) it was delicious! And what surprised me more was that the portion was perfect, smaller than the american standards. At last!

I could not leave Gigi without trying some of their cookies so I bought a coconut-chocolate cookie. At that precise moment, the pastry chef was just taking out of the oven a tray with what seemed one of the most delicious desserts ever, so I think she read my mind , and she offered me a piece of it. I had a bite and OMG! I was right! It was so delicious! very mellow and sweet but at the same time crunchy due to the almonds it has inside. Happy as a child with a new pair of shoes (wait…I think that saying doesn’t exist in english…anyways, it’s a spanish saying, though I think it should be changed because kids don’t care that much about their shoes, but women, oh yes, women we do, at least most of us, ha ha, and it makes us very happy!) So, I went home and took some pictures of my litltle treasures.

Creo que ha llegado el momento de empezar a publicar también en inglés. Me da un poco de miedo porque no se me da muy bien escribir en inglés, así que perdón por adelantado por las faltas de ortografía. Al mismo tiempo, estoy feliz porque me va a ayudar a mejorar y a hacerlo más fácil para las personas que no hablan español.

Mi primer post en inglés y español va a ser sobre mi nuevo sitio favorito para un almuerzo en Miami. Se llama GIGI y lo he descubierto hoy. En seguida me ha gustado porque me recuerda a los restaurantes de Barcelona. Es acogedor pero moderno a la vez con decoración industrial y toques románticos como jarras de cristal llenas de galletas caseras en la barra.

Para comer me decidí por el chilled soba (soba frío) con soba, cacahuetes picantes y verduras variadas. Estaba buenísimo. Y lo que más me ha sorprendido y gustado muchísimo es que la ración era adecuada, más pequeña que los estándares americanos. Por fin!

No pude salir de GIGI sin probar sus galletas, así que me compré una galleta de coco y chocolate. En ese preciso momento, la chef de pastelería estaba sacando una bandeja con un postre que tenía una pinta increíble, así que creo que notó mi cara de pasión al verlo y me ofreció un trozo para llevarme a casa! Comí un trozo ahí mismo y tenía toda la razón, estaba delicioso! muy suave y dulce pero a la vez crujiente debido a las almendras que contiene. Más contenta que un niño con zapatos nuevos (bueno, en realidad, eso también me hace muy feliz a mí, jeje) me fuí a casa para fotografiar estos pequeños tesoros.


  

Please, also welcome my new herbs! Basil, rosemary and mint. I use them all the time when cooking. They really make a difference.

Por favor, también dad la bienvenida a mis nuevas hierbas aromáticas! albahaca, romero y menta. Las uso todo el tiempo cuando cocino.

And here are some views from my apartment of the Miami sunset, so inspiring!

I aquí os dejo con unas fotos de las vistas del atardecer de Miami des de mi piso. Pura inspiración!

  

Pumpinks are out in the markets! Can’t wait to cook something delicious with it! Halloween is nearby!

Empieza la temporada de calabazas! A ver qué deliciosa receta encuentro para usarlas…. Se acerca Halloween!!


Responder

